38 Comments
founding

I can't believe I missed this! About the time you wrote this I bought an arm load of fresh garlic from the vegetable stand! They're now a sweet fragrance in the cellar bin!

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2022Liked by Kate McDermott

Today, I will mostly be thinning carrots :)

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2022Liked by Kate McDermott

That garlic looks beautiful! Garlic is a staple in our house.

I’m answering a little late because the day you posted we were on a weekend trip to Lisbon! It had been over 15 years since I had been there, and we spent the time walking around the city and eating lots of fresh seafood.

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Kate McDermott

I'm trying to restore calm in my body ... before the next "storm". Reading your blog seems to help a lot. Your smile is so dear to the sunshine in my day

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2022Liked by Kate McDermott

I am in NYC celebrating my granddaughters 16th birthday with her. We have had remarkable food and adventures. Harvesting sounds lovely

Expand full comment

I haven't been as ambitious as all of you! Saturday is always a trip to the farmer's market. Ran some errands and am spending quiet time with a book. I enjoyed the video. Well done!

Expand full comment

I'm impressed with how ambitious everyone is. Other than making a cashew-jalapeno-lime marinade for chicken on the grill, I've just been enjoying a visit with my son.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2022Liked by Kate McDermott

Started today learning how to gather chicken and quail eggs from my neighbor’s roosts while they are gone for a few weeks. Made gazpacho with fresh vegetables, and will fry some thin zucchini slices to make Spaghetti alla Nerano tomorrow.

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2022Liked by Kate McDermott

Busy day in the kitchen. I cleaned and dried 3 pints of blueberries, 1 1/2 pints raspberries, and a bag of cherries, including pitting them. They are all in a dehydrator a friend gifted me. Making sourdough English muffins (27 total) right now. Grilling chicken breasts and pork chops for supper. Serve with a salad. The chicken will be grilled fajita style. The pork will have a BBQ rub and finished with a plum habanero jam I made last summer.

Expand full comment

Hi,Kate. Thanks for the garlic cleaning lesson! Today I’ll water the dogwood tree planted in memory of Donn. Also, start working on learning my lines for the two short plays I’ll act in in October…and prep for my cousin’s 80th birthday Tuesday….Will think of you!

Expand full comment

Those looks incredible! Well done! Today is a day for some deep cleaning, relaxing outside, and cooking (with large garlics)!😉

Expand full comment

I’m watching you fabulously clean your recently harvested garlic! Beautiful! 🧄 ❤️

Expand full comment